Access City Award

Launched by the European Commission, the Access City Award recognises and celebrates a city's willingness, ability and efforts to become more accessible, in order to: 
- guarantee equal access to fundamental rights;
- improve the quality of life of its population and ensure that everybody, regardless of age, mobility or ability, has equal access to all the resources and pleasures cities have to offer.

Who can apply

The Award is open to all EU cities of over 50 000 inhabitants and to urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50,000 inhabitants.
The submitting body must be a government authority in one of the EU Member States.

On the basis of the Withdrawal Agreement, the United Kingdom is to be treated as if it was a Member State during and after the transition period for actions which implement Union programmes and activities committed under the current Multiannual Financial Framework (2014-2020). Thus UK applicants are eligible to participate in this ACA prize 2021.


The European Commission will award a monetary prize to each of the first winners and the two runners-up as follows:

  • 1st prize: €150 000 (winner of the title of Accessible City 2021) 
  • 2nd prize: €120 000
  • 3rd prize: €80 000

How to apply

Entrants should fill the application form, in addition they are also invited to upload, or provide a link, to a ten slides PowerPoint presentation illustrating the strong points of their application.

The winners of the European Access City Award 2021 will officially be announced at the Award Ceremony in Brussels on 2 December 2020.

More information

Find out more by visiting the European Commission's Access City Award page.