MEDEA Awards

The aim of the MEDEA Awards is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media (audio, video, graphics and animation) in education. The awards also recognise and promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning productions, resources, processes and services.
From 2015 onwards, the MEDEA Awards are supported by the Media & Learning Association.


Award Categories 2019
The MEDEA Award for User-Generated Educational Media
This award honours the best entry submitted by teachers, students, learners, parents, professors, individual or organisational representatives in higher education, or continuing education and/or training.


The MEDEA Award for Professionally Produced Educational Media
This award is awarded to the best professional educational media product, resource, tool or service produced or managed by a professional company or semi-professional production unit such as a broadcaster, professional multimedia producer or publisher, professional web design company, audiovisual or media department in larger institutions or organisations such as universities, government departments, companies, multinational institutions and organisations, etc where the production is aimed at the higher education or continuing education and/or training sector.


The special MEDEA Jury
The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.

How to apply
Participants can submit up to 8 entries.
Any multimedia material must have been created after 1st January 2016. Of course, the entry may include or consist of older material.
Entries need to be submitted via the online submission form and sent to arrive at the MEDEA Awards Secretariat via post, e-mail or fax before the closing date 15th March 2019, (midnight) CET.
All finalists will be notified in mid-April 2019 and will be invited to take part in the Awards Ceremony taking place during the Media & Learning Conference on the 5-6 June 2019, in Leuven (Belgium), where the final winners will be announced.


Find out more: